Thursday 13 May 2021

John Nwodo, Senator Ayogu Eze headline list for launch of amu nnadi’s "the love canticles"

The Advisory and Planning Committees for the public presentation of "the love canticles", the new book by prolific Nigerian poet, amu nnadi, has been unveiled.

Prominent among the committees is former President-General of Ohaneze Ndigbo and two-time Minister of Federal Republic of Nigeria, Chief John Nnia Nwodo, as well as Senator Ayogu Eze, former Senator representing Enugu North Senatorial Zone. 

The list, unveiled in Port Harcourt, Rivers State capital, also named Mr. Davies Okarevu, the Director, Planning, Research and Statistics of the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, as Chairman of the Planning Committee.

Other members named include Hon. Chijioke Edeoga, Commissioner of Environment, Enugu State and former member of House of Representatives, as well as Barrister George Ero, Director, Rivers State Office, Dr. Prince Alazigha, Director, Community and Rural Development, Barrister Stephen Ighomuaye, Director, Legal Services, Eno Ubi Otu, Director, Finance and Accounts, and Engr. Emeka Ani, Director, Office of Interim Administrator/CEO of the NDDC.

Mr. James Eze, Chief Press Secretary to the Governor of Anambra State, Chief Willie Obiano, and winner of the 2020 ANA Poetry Prize for the book, "dispossessed", and Samson Fiberesima, the General Manager of Radio Rivers, were also named.

This is the seventh book of the multiple award-winning poet, whose 2013 anthology, "through the window of a sandcastle", won the 2013 ANA Poetry Prize, the 2014 inaugural Glenna Luschei African Poetry Book Prize, and was the runner-up to the 2013 Nigeria LNG Prize for Literature.

Described by poet and literary critic, Michael Chiedoziem Chukwudera, as an "alchemical phenomenon", the love canticles is a book of one hundred romantic poems.

According to a press statement signed in Port Harcourt by Edwina Aleme, a member of the Planning Committee, the public presentation, scheduled to hold in the last week of June in Port Harcourt, will also witness the unveiling of an album of songs created from amu nnadi’s poetry, "amu nnadi: everything beautiful".

"This is going to be the first of its kind in Nigerian poetry and promises to be day of astounding art," Aleme stated, adding: "Chief John Nnia Nwodo will present a speech at the event, while the review of "the love canticles" will be presented by James Eze.

The full list of the Planning and Advisory Committees are:

Davies Okarevu (Director, Planning, Research and Statistics, NDDC), Chairman

Emeka Ani (Director, Office of IA/CEO, NDDC), Member

Steve Ighomuaye (Director, Legal Services), Member

Eno Ubi Otu (Director, Finance and Accounts, NDDC), Member

Hon. Chijioke Edeoga (Commissioner for Environment, Enugu State), Member 

James Eze (Chief Press Secretary, Anambra State Government and Winner, ANA Poetry Prize 2020), Member

Sampson Fiberesima (General Manager, Radio Rivers and Captain, Book Section, Port Harcourt Club 1928)

Oby Ndukwe (CEO, Citizens Quest TV)

Tammy Allaboh

Pamela Scott (Producer, *amu nnadi: everything beautiful*)

Clara Braide (Directorate of Skills Development and Empowerment, NDDC)

Edwina Aleme (Port Harcourt Literary Society)


Chief John Nnia Nwodo (Former President-General, Ohanaeze Ndigbo)

Senator Ayogu Eze (Former Senator representing Enugu North Senatorial Zone)

Pastor George Ero (Director, Rivers State Office, NDDC)

Dr. Prince Alazigha (Director, Community and Rural Development, NDDC)

No comments:

Post a Comment